All-league players and coaches named

By David Witte / sports@losbanosenterprise.comNovember 16, 2012 

Los Banos High senior Alyssa Luna led the Tigers' girls water polo team in goals, assists and steals during its Western Athletic Conference title run, and was rewarded with the league's MVP award.

"She just never gave up, she did a great job seeing the ball, seeing the plays as they unfolded," Los Banos coach Nathan Hanson said. "She was always in the right spot at the right time. And she's a fast swimmer. She is very aggressive on defense."

Luna ran the point for the Tigers and led with 26 goals, 27 assists and 17 steals during league play.

The All-WAC team included Taylor Brooks (25 goals, 3 assists and a steal) and goalkeeper Sydney Gerstenberg (75 saves) on the first team, and Mayra Garcia (14 goals, 6 assists, 7 steals), Mayra Garcia (14 goals, 8 assists, 3 steals) and Mackenzie Hurley (19 goals, 9 assists and 6 steals) on the second team.

The WAC also named Hanson as its coach of the year, which surprised the first-year water polo coach.

"I thought a couple of other coaches did a better job coaching," Hanson said. "It was just that my girls made me look good."

Pacheco's Olivia Andrade was named to the first team, while Nicole Ketchum, Elissa Martinez, Vicky Ramirez and Savannah Verderber were given honorable mentions.

The boys all-WAC first team included Pacheco goalkeeper Spencer Heaton along with LB's Jared Benitez and Kyren DiMarzio. Pacheco's Brian King, Daniel Judson and Gabriel Andrade, along with LB's A.J. Coronel and David Melendez, earned second-team honors. Honorable mentions went to Pacheco's Gregory Fedalizo and Anthony Juarez.

In tennis, LB's Alexis Barcellos, who amassed a 20-2 record and was undefeated in league play, was named league MVP, while first-team All-WAC selections included teammates Christina Soares, Nicole Marchese, Tiffany Liu and Jacquelin Arretche.

LB's Bianca Soares, Monique Arretche, Elena Erreca, Kelly Younce and Amanda Marchese earned second-team honors.

In volleyball, LB's Jade Fachin earned the league's MVP award, while Michelle Gutierrez and Colleen Allen were named to the first team. Kassandra Gaxiola and Savannah Pena earned second-team honors, along with Pacheco's Linda Thompson and Tracey Alvarez.

LB's Greg Soliz was named coach of the year.

In soccer, Pacheco's Edgar Iglesias was named to the All-WAC first team, while teammates David Posadas, Manuel Sepulveda and Salvador Rostro, as well as LB's William Garcia earned second-team honors.

Enterprise reporter David Witte can be reached by phone at 388-6565 or by e-mail at

Enterprise reporter David Witte can be reached by phone at 388-6565 or by e-mail at

The Los Banos Enterprise is pleased to provide this opportunity to share information, experiences and observations about what's in the news. Some of the comments may be reprinted elsewhere in the site or in the newspaper. We encourage lively, open debate on the issues of the day, and ask that you refrain from profanity, hate speech, personal comments and remarks that are off point. Thank you for taking the time to offer your thoughts.

Commenting FAQs | Terms of Service